FIFA Club World Cup 2022 in 2023: All winners – complete list

Must Read

The FIFA Club World Cup features seven of the best men’s football sides in the world.

To gain qualification to the Championships, six teams must win their respective region’s continent-wide Champions League – whilst the final spot is awarded to the champion of the tournament’s host country.

UEFA Champions League holders Real Madrid won a record fifth Club World Cup in Morocco, beating Saudi champs Al-Hilal 5-3 in the final.

Brazilian forward Vinicius Jr and Uruguayan midfielder Federico Valverde scored twice apiece in Rabat with the former collecting the Golden Ball awarded to the tournament’s best player.

That made it 10 consecutive victories for European teams in the tournament with this latest edition taking place a couple of months later than usual due to the World Cup.

History of the Championship

The FIFA Club World Cup is a replacement competition of the Intercontinental Cup which ran from 1960 – 2004. The Intercontinental Cup was an attempt to identify the best club team in the world, but only featured teams from the CONMEBOL and UEFA confederations.

Pele was the all-time top scorer of the Intercontinental Cup competition with AC Milan the best performing team having won the competition three times and finishing in second place four times.

In 2000, the FIFA Club World Cup was founded and the first ever final was an all-Brazilian fixture between Vasco da Gama and Corinthians. Corinthians won 4-3 on penalties at the Estadio de Maracana.

After 2000, the competition paused and relaunched in 2005 having adapted the current format which sees seven teams compete in a straight knockout tournament over two weeks.

The winners of the following competitions qualify for the FIFA Club World Cup:

FIFA Club World Cup 2022

This year’s edition was held in Morocco from 1-11 February. The teams taking part were:

  • Spain’s Real Madrid

  • Brazil’s Flamengo

  • Morocco’s Wydad Casablanca

  • Egypt’s Al Ahly

  • USA’s Seattle Sounders

  • Saudi Arabia’s Al-Hilal

  • New Zealand’s Auckland City

Wydad Casablanca gained automatic qualification as the host nation’s national champion. However, they also won the African CAF Champions League which opened up a sport for Egypt’s Al Ahly who finished runners up in the CAF Champions League.

Latest News

AirAsia Launches Bleisure Travels And Plans US Public Listing

Summary Upgraded AirAsia Corporate Travel program offers exclusive benefits aimed at corporate clients for over 130 destinations across...

More Articles Like This