ICC shifts Men’s Under 19 World Cup from Sri Lanka to South Africa

Must Read

The ICC Board on Tuesday decided to shift the 2024 men’s Under-19 World Cup from Sri Lanka to South Africa. The move, a unanimous decision by the board, was taken as a consequence of the ICC recently provisionally suspending the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) due to extensive government interference in the board’s administration.

The development will have no immediate implication on the daily running of cricket. ESPNcricinfo has learned that the ICC Board agreed that cricket at all levels, including any bilateral and domestic series and tournaments, will not be disrupted by the suspension. As for the ICC annual funding, that would be controlled until the suspension is lifted.

Shammi Silva, SLC president, had recently warned that the biennial tournament, scheduled in January 2024 was in danger of being moved out of the country unless the ICC was satisfied that Sri Lanla government was not meddling in board’s working, which goes against the ICC constitution. The SLC and the country’s sports minister Roshan Ranasinghe have been in conflict over the past year, with Ranasinghe making accusations of corruption and mismanagement in the cricket board, while Silva and SLC accuse him of meddling with cricket.

Silva also notified the ICC in November 2022 of government interference which forced the ICC Board to ask its deputy chairman Imran Khawaja to travel to Sri Lanka to establish the facts.

Benoni, Potchefstroom likely venues

South Africa has been a favourite for hosting U-19 World Cup events recently. The country hosted the inaugural edition of the Women’s U-19 World Cup in 2023 and the men’s U-19 World Cup in 2020 too.

The venues for the 2024 edition are likely to be the two venues each in Benoni (Willowmoore Park A and B) and Potchefstroom (Absa Puk Oval and Senwes Park) that had hosted the women’s competition earlier this year. The tournament, originally scheduled for January 13 – February 4 in Sri Lanka, is likely to be played close to the same window.

For fans in South Africa, the tournament now clashes with the SA20 franchise competition that runs from January 10 to February 10. The four venues in Benoni and Potchefstroom are not hosting any SA20 games.

The top 11 Full Member sides from the 2022 edition have qualified directly, and five teams – Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Scotland, and USA – have earned their spots through regional qualification events. The 2024 edition will also be played in a fresh format – with the ‘Super Sixes’ a new segment during the second stage of the event.

India, with five titles, are the most successful team in the competition’s history, followed by Australia with three. Pakistan have won twice and each of England, Bangladesh, South Africa, and West Indies have lifted the crown once.

Latest News

Holiday shopping options made in Illinois

ByABC7 Chicago Digital Team Monday, December 4, 2023 6:17PMCHICAGO (WLS) -- How's your holiday shopping going?If you consider...

More Articles Like This